Figment

psychedelic

Their crowned goddess

0f3b52922aed37907589035aa8c77a32

The words I am about to express: They now have their own crowned goddess. ~ Leandro Diaz

And just as I read these words, the crowned goddess showed up. These are the opening lines of  Garcia Marquez’s novel, Love in the Time of Cholera. I picked up the book while I was on one of the most legendary ships of our time, the Rainbow Warrior. The journey started with an excuse for work and turned into something magical from the time I read the above mentioned line.

It was in the middle of the night and I was just done writing about livelihoods, the birds and the beauty of Papua.  I was there to document the abundant beauty of nature. We had hiked to the forests and snorkeled in the Indian Ocean during the ship tour. It beautiful and really beautiful I mean. But what I witnessed that night has left me enchanted for the rest of my life.

As I opened Garcia to retire from work, a colleague pulled me out from my office cabin and took me by the hand. I followed her in the dark. She took me downstairs, to the deck and asked me to look down at the waters.

I looked down at the waters and saw the most psychedelic thing ever! The waves created by the ship moving forward were glowing with luminescence. It was disillusioning to witness this while being sober because it’s felt like I was in another world. It was beautiful. Watching the ship moves forward in waves of florescent green was a sight one could only imagine in sci-fi movies or fiction novels. ‘It is phytoplankton. Don’t ask me why it happens or how it works but I just got you here because I wanted you to see this thing.’, she said. I am so glad that she did that.

And then suddenly there emerged a small school of flying fish from the ocean and back into it. They were glowing too. It was not a dream, it was real and I felt blessed by the crowned goddess. Life is beautiful. I am pilgrim of that beauty and a follower of that crowned goddess. She exists in my words, in my eyes and my tears. That day, my tears merged with the glowing waters of the ocean and became holy, forever. It was like flying in a boat.

Single Post Navigation

6 thoughts on “Their crowned goddess

  1. priti on said:

    life of ‘pari’ 🙂 i so envy u right now

  2. i always wanted to ask you if you have been in the ship-but i end up forgetting (soo many ramblings happen in our conversations!). So to be on the ship and to see that-you are truly blessed! and i am glad you saw the miracle! 🙂 🙂 🙂 p.s- did u get a chance to take a picture of these amazing creatures? 🙂

    • Pari on said:

      No! I wanted to take a picture but they told me it would be useless since the flash of the camera would not capture the glow in the dark. I didn’t have any special camera so I let it go. 😛

      • priti on said:

        u cud hv tried clicking on incandesent mode. don’t know how useful it will be but its better for such pictures

      • Pari on said:

        Thanks for that! I shall keep that in mind for the next time. 🙂

Leave a Reply

